Honor and a Hula Hoe

So, I have a little story. I’ve been working on my garden as usual. Trying new things and wondering why old tricks aren’t working, when I began a conversation with my dad. For those that don’t know, my dad is a gardener. An excellent gardener. I am sure that he can resurrect anything, breathe life into any plant and cause all things to flourish. I am sure he took his gardening classes from God the Father.

It is an awesome thing to the first born to such greatness, but likewise, it is a hard act to follow.

While I would love to be in that category, I am not. However, I do hold my own.

That being said, during one of our gardening conversations my dad mentions a HULA HOE. I pretty much said what you are saying now. HULA HOE? He tells me that in one of my bragging photos, he “noticed” a weed. Now I want you to know that I took great care at the angle at which I took the photo so that he could NOT find a weed. However, that is afterall how he has a GREAT garden. He can spot them one state away.

So he tells me to go and get a hula hoe and try it out. He says that it breaks up the capillary action (please do not think I understand what that is) and the weeds just come right up with it. So now I am the proud owner of a Hula hoe, and I kid you not. Those weeds are much easier to come up and I just can’t even tell you how wonderful that thing is. You can get them at Lowes or Home Depot and they really do work wonders.

But that is not what this email is about. The Bible clearly says in Ephesians 6:2, “Honor your father and mother”–which is the first commandment with a promise–”

This is an email to honor my father. He really is a smart man, with a wealthy array of hardcore, in the trenches, learned it first hand knowledge.  Oh…. and the hula hoe really works.

Thanks Dad,





https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=dca052b573&view=att&th=1386e716f49ebc35&attid=0.1&disp=inline&realattid=f064f6698aaa404e_0.1&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P8qi8IK0mLQkZRMEufd1xqP&sadet=1344300324132&sads=6XwMtPG3DP6E4ezdpEt8Mkk_xGQ

Leave a comment